My favorites :)

untitled

“You’re never alone when you’re reading a book.”― Susan Wiggs

“[I] read books because I love them, not because I think I should read them.”―Simon Van Booy

tumblr_m9qhd817zk1reas2fo1_500

“When I read a book, I put in all the imagination I can, so that it is almost like writing the book as well as reading it – or rather, it is like living it. It makes reading so much more exciting, but I don’t suppose many people try to do it.”―Dodie Smith

“Life is too short to read books that I’m not enjoying.”―Melissa Marr

Reading-books-quotes-about-reading-and-books-e1351429484695

“For one who reads, there is no limit to the number of lives that may be lived, for fiction, biography, and history offer an inexhaustible number of lives in many parts of the world, in all periods of time.”―Louis L’Amour

“She’d become an English major for the purest and dullest of reasons: because she loved to read.”―Jeffrey Eugenides

“I am a grenade,” I said again. “I just want to stay away from people and read books and think and be with you guys because there’s nothing I can do about hurting you: You’re too invested, so just please let me do that, okay?
“I’m going to go to my room and read for awhile, okay? I’m fine. I really am fine: I just want to go read for a while.”―John Green

“I like best to have one book in my hand, and a stack of others on the floor beside me, so as to know the supply of poppy and mandragora will not run out before the small hours.”―Dorothy Parker

Quote-Ralph-Waldo-Emerson-If-we-encounter-a-man-of-rare-intelect-we-should-ask-him-what-books-he-reads

“People who say they don’t have time to read simply don’t want to.”–Julie Rugg

“Be as careful of the books you read, as of the company you keep; for your habits and character will be as much influenced by the former as the latter.”―Paxton Hood

love-books-quote-pretty-pictures-pics-quotes

“I go back to the reading room, where I sink down in the sofa and into the world of The Arabian Nights. Slowly, like a movie fadeout, the real world evaporates. I’m alone, inside the world of the story. My favourite feeling in the world.”―Haruki Murakami

“But, how do you know if an ending is truly good for the characters unless you’ve traveled with them through every page?”

―Shannon Hale

Quote-Edmund-Wilson-No-two-persons-ever-read-the-same-book

“I read like the flame reads the wood.” ―Alfred Döblin

“Maybe reading was just a way to make her feel less alone, to keep her company. When you read something you are stopped, the moment is stayed, you can sometimes be there more fully than you can in your real life.”―Helen Humphreys

javier-perez-de-albeniz-book-day-quote1

“The reader became the book; and summer night
Was like the conscious being of the book.”
―Wallace Stevens

“Reading requires actual concentration. If you skipped a paragraph, or even an important sentence, you could lose the entire story. With most TV shows, though, you didn’t have to concentrate at all. You could space out for a good ten minutes, then come back and still figure out what was going on.”―Daniel Ehrenhaft

if-a-book-is-well-written-i-always-find-it-2

“The true reader reads every work seriously in the sense that he reads it whole-heartedly, makes himself as receptive as he can. But for that very reason he cannot possibly read every work solemly or gravely. For he will read ‘in the same spirit that the author writ.’… He will never commit the error of trying to munch whipped cream as if it were venison.”―C.S. Lewis

“Books don’t change people; paragraphs do, Sometimes even sentences.”―John Piper

childhood1

“You can’t enjoy art or books in a hurry.”―E.A. Bucchianeri

“The writer’s curse is that even in solitude, no matter its duration, he never grows lonely or bored.”―Criss Jami

Books-movies-quotes-Stephen-King

“Each time we come to a book we give it a different reading because we bring a different person to it. It is not you who reads the book, the book reads you”―Jack Lasenby

“A book is like a key that fits into the tumbler of the soul. The two parts have to match in order for each to unlock. Then—click—a world opens.”―Brad Kessler

books,quotes-6b9f1f7afd51f35370ebfdf84800f951_h

“If you have read 6,000 books in your lifetime, or even 600, it’s probably because at some level you find ‘reality’ a bit of a disappointment.”―Joe Queenan

“If the novel is dead, I’m a necrophiliac.”―Tiffany Madison

book-hangover-books-quotes

“My books are a word feast.”―Lori R. Lopez

“In this way, I was able to place my own concerns aside and curl myself up in the cocoon of somebody else’s imagination. My life was suspended – I was in neither one place nor the other.”―Kate Kerrigan

book quotes (1)

“Never read a book that is not a year old.”―Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Never judge a book by its “spine”―Stanley Victor Paskavich

10860-books-are-mirrors-you-only-see-in-them-what-you-already-have

Leave a Reply

